ACTION MINUTES

MEETING OF THE PLANNING COMMISSION

April 2, 2024, 6:00 p.m. Hybrid City Council Chamber/Virtual Zoom Meeting 215 East Branch Street, Arroyo Grande

Commission Members Present:	Chair Jamie Maraviglia, Vice Chair Bruce Berlin, Virginia Roof
Commission Members Absent:	Catherine Sackrison, Kevin Buchanan
Staff Present:	Planning Manager Andrew Perez, Associate Planner Patrick Holub, Shayna Gropen

This meeting was conducted in a hybrid in-person/virtual format.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Maraviglia called the Planning Commission meeting to order at 6:00pm.

2. FLAG SALUTE

Chair Maraviglia led the flag salute.

3. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

Commissioners Buchanan and Sackrison were absent.

4. AGENDA REVIEW

None.

5. COMMUNITY COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS

Scott Miller spoke about item 8.a. Chair Maraviglia invited him to comment during the public hearing later in the agenda.

6. WRITTEN COMMUNICATIONS

The Commission received two items of written correspondence regarding item 8.a.

7. <u>CONSENT AGENDA</u>

7.a Approval of Minutes

The item was continued to the next regular meeting.

Moved by Vice Chair Bruce Berlin Seconded by Chair Maraviglia

Continue the consideration of the Minutes of the March 19, 2024 meeting to the next regularly scheduled meeting.

Passed

8. PUBLIC HEARINGS

8.a Consideration of Conditional Use Permit 23-010 and Lot Line Adjustment 24-001; Construction of a New Car Wash; Location – 414, 418, 422 East Grand Ave; Applicant – Ryan Talley

Assistant Planner Gropen presented the staff report and responded to Commissioner questions regarding: noise reduction; water reclamation; solar panels; setback distances; RHNA; water use restrictions; landscaping; egress; and tax generation.

Ryan Talley, applicant, spoke in favor of the project and responded to Commissioner questions regarding: dimensions of the tunnel entrance; acoustic paneling; noise emanating from the tunnel entrance; sound dampening; landscaping; water usage; and trip generation.

Chair Maraviglia opened the public hearing. Speaking from the public were the following individuals: Brian Goodman; Patty Welsh; Brita Bonaventure; Bob; Dave Friesen; Scott Miller; Cindy Maddox; Ron Holt; Imran Khan; and Judy Ceccetti, Hearing no further public comments, Chair Maraviglia closed the public comment.

Moved by Vice Chair Bruce Berlin Seconded by Virginia Roof

Continue the item until the April 16, 2024 meeting and direct staff to return with a denial Resolution for the conditional use permit and lot line adjustment.

Passed

9. NON-PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS

9.a Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson

Moved by Chair Maraviglia Seconded by Vice Chair Bruce Berlin

Continue the Election of a Chair and a Vice Chair to serve effective April 16, 2024, and continuing until March 18, 2025 to the next regularly scheduled meeting.

Passed

10. NOTICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE ITEMS SINCE MARCH 19, 2024

None.

11. <u>COMMISSION COMMUNICATIONS</u>

None.

12. STAFF COMMUNICATIONS

None.

13. ADJOURNMENT

The Meeting adjourned at 7:54.

Jamie Maraviglia, Chair

Patrick Holub, Associate Planner