#### **ACTION MINUTES**

#### MEETING OF THE ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW COMMITEE

# April 18, 2022, 2:30 p.m. Hybrid City Hall Conference Room/Virtual Zoom Meeting

Committee Members Present: Jon Couch, Kristin Juette, Warren Hoag,

Bruce Berlin

Committee Members Absent: Lori Mainini Hall

Staff Present: Community Development Director Brian

Pedrotti, Associate Planner Andrew Perez,

Assistant Planner Patrick Holub

Given the recent increase in COVID-19 cases in San Luis Obispo County, and in compliance with Assembly Bill (AB) 361, which allows for a deviation of teleconference rules required by the Ralph M. Brown Act, this meeting was held by teleconference.

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Hoag called the meeting to order at 2:30 pm.

# 2. ROLL CALL

Chair Hoag performed the roll call. Committee Member Hall was absent.

# 3. FLAG SALUTE

Chair Hoag led the flag salute.

#### 4. <u>AGENDA REVIEW</u>

None.

### 5. COMMUNITY COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS

Chair Hoag opened the public comment period. No public comment was received.

#### 6. WRITTEN COMMUNICATIONS

Chair Hoag acknowledged the two Supplemental Memos containing public comment for Item 8.b.

# 7. CONSENT AGENDA

# 7.a Approval of Minutes

(PEREZ)

This item was continued to the next Regular Meeting due to a lack of quorum of Committee Members that attended the March 21, 2022 Regular Meeting.

# 8.b Review of Objective Design Standards for Projects Proposed Under Senate Bill 9 (SB 9)

Committee Member Couch rejoined the meeting at 2:37 pm.

Acting Planning Manager Perez presented the staff report, explained the legislation and what it permits. He summarized the objective design standards proposed by staff and the reasoning behind each of them. He also answered questions from the Committee related to where parking is permitted on residential properties.

Chair Hoag opened public comment.

Kevin Buchanan, Arroyo Grande Planning Commissioner, advocated for taller maximum heights and larger unit sizes. He also wanted to ensure that the standards do not discourage SB 9 development.

Chair Hoag closed the public comment.

The Committee was not supportive of a one sizes fits all approach to the maximum units size and felt that 1,200 square feet would be too restrictive for larger lots. The Committee suggested using a sliding scale based on lot size to determine the maximum allowable unit size. The Committee was in favor of a tiered approach to the maximum height limit depending on whether the unit was located in the setback of the underlying setback for the district. The Committee was not supportive of a prohibition of rooftop decks.

The Committee found the color and material standards proposed too restrictive and do not allow for creativity. The Committee suggested revising the parking standards to specify that parking in a driveway is allowed and adding a landscape buffer requirement to maintain aesthetics and neighborhood character.

Moved by Bruce Berlin Seconded by Kristin Juette

Recommendation to the Planning Commission to recommend adoption of the objective design standards as revised by the ARC.

AYES (4): Jon Couch, Kristin Juette, Warren Hoag, and Bruce Berlin

ABSENT (1): Lori Mainini Hall

Passed (4 to 0)

#### 9. DISCUSSION ITEMS

### 9.a Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Vice Chair Berlin nominated Chair Hoag to remain Chairperson for the next year. Committee Member Juette made a motion, seconded by Vice Chair Berlin, to serve as Chairperson until the first regular meeting in March 2023. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Hoag nominated Vice Chair Berlin to remain Vice Chair for the next year. Chair Hoag made a motion, seconded by Committee Member Juette, to serve as Vice Chair until the first regular meeting in March 2023. The motion passed unanimously.